#11: Hang Me And Rid Me Of The Pain…

Hang Me And Rid Me Of The Pain…

By: Syed Umar Shams Shah.

An ordinary human I happen to be;

Living in a place, extraordinaire…

Where every soul is a beacon of hope;

The people so lively, the culture so vibrant.

But O’ Ye my friend! don’t read me wrong,

My heart is not gleaming,

For I am in the pain inconceivable

To see my brethren trampled,

Hounded, harassed, bruised and defiled,

My people have been bearing it for long.

The beast of oppression has ruined my land –

Raising the heaps of dead.

I passed by a grave, which looked so small;

There a kid lay at rest, peacefully inside

I heard his echo, calling out for my soul,

“Why did my oppressor send me here?”

I caged my soul by choking its conscience

Telling the child he is not alone,

Tears rolling down, I whispered to him;

“My soul has been suffocated with heavy boots, my son!”.

I passed by a sister, who called on me,

“Has my tormentor been taken to the cage?”

I hung my head in heavy shame,

For I couldn’t tell her, they still roam free.

I passed by a mother, her son she did not see,

I heard a dad cry for his lad,

I passed a village, where ghosts rule,

For the abodes of people are left no more,

I heard the shrieks of people exiled;

I met a martyr whose blood still dripping;

I saw the horrid tales of suppression,

I saw my nation, fettered in chains…

A shooting pain is piercing my soul;

The pain of seeing my house on fire;

For I can’t have a shelter again,

Torch me and rid me of the pain.

For I can’t console my child again,

For I can’t save my life again

For I can’t bear the pain again.

Hang me and rid me of the pain…

Picture only meant for representation and does not belong to the author.

Picture only meant for representation and does not belong to the author.

2 responses to “#11: Hang Me And Rid Me Of The Pain…

Leave a comment